July in Review

A good, if chaotic month.  14 books read, though most were audio because I really struggled to sit down and read this month.

32856013The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

4 cups of tea.  Solid and touches on prejudice and oppression.  I need to re-read The Two Princesses of Bamarre so that I can catch all the connections. (library audio)

Utopia for Realists by Rutger Bregman

4.5 cups of tea.  This book introduced some great ideas about progressivism, which I really loved!  I don’t know enough about economics to provide good criticism of this book, but I’m keeping my eye out for other people talking about it! (indie bookstore on vacation)

Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine

4 cups of tea.  This book started out as a kind of alien comedy of manners, but was a little dull in the middle with all the sailing bits (not my bag), and then interesting again with the rebellion on Mars.  I was a little uncomfortable with the un-resolved colonial aspect of Arabella’s thought process, but I’m hoping she’ll have some growth on that front.  Also, inter-racial couple. (library audio)

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

4 cups of tea.  Short and sweet.  Gives you lots of Star Wars fan feels.  But I wish we’d gotten more time in this story.  Hear that, Rowell?  More please! (ebook)

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

4 cups of tea.  Umm, it was kind of a let down?  The beginning was good, the middle was meh, the end redeemed it.  I’ll probably pick up the next one, maybe. (vacation purchase hardback)

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine28110852

5 cups of tea.  I love this book so much.  Re-read.  Sister love.  Feminism. (library audio)

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

DNF.  It felt a little forced.  I’m glad so many other people are enjoying it and that it’s bringing up conversations about mental health, but it’s not the book for me right now. (library audio)

You Can’t Touch My Hair by Phoebe Robinson

4 cups of tea.  This was important and good for me, though I think that Robinson’s persona is a little much for me.  I think I’d probably like to hang out with her one-on-one when she’s not performing.  She’s totally the smartest person in the room and I learned so much from her.  Black women are my heroes at intersectionality. (library audio)

29780253The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

5 cups of tea.  I loved this.  It was so magically and imaginative, and it boiled down big themes and ideas into totally manageable quantity for children.  I can see why it won the Newbury. (library audio)

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

5 cups of tea.  I loved this.  I didn’t know enough about South Africa, both apartheid and post-apartheid.  Noah is smart, funny, insightful, and doesn’t shy away from the tough parts of his life.  I second Bill Gates’ recommendation.  (library audio)

All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

DNF.  Dull.  I think that contemporaries are not my bag.  The stakes are not high enough and most of the kids are upper middle class with no real problems.  This was Laura Jean for me, too upper middle class. (owned ebook)

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens’ Agenda by Becky Albertalli

4.5 cups of tea.  Whoa damn.  Maybe I do like contemporaries when they are about actual stuff.  This one was amazing. (library audio)

6342491Writing Magic by Gail Carson Levine

3 cups of tea.  Good, fine, but geared more toward children writers.  Which is great, but not for me. 🙂 (library paperback)

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

4.5 cups of tea.  Wow, this took me a long time.  The beginning was slow and the audiobook was dreadful.  However, once I got going with it, wow!  I understand the hype.  And I’m so ready for the next one! (owned paperback)

Currently Reading:

Everfair by Nisi Shawl

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

All the Paths of Shadow

The Two Princesses of Bamarre

Leave a Reply

