June in Review

21 books.  Wow, quite good, and some lovely reads!  4 previously owned, 17 library reads.

Phoebe and Her Unicorn by Dana Simpson23716232

4 cups of tea.  Cute, but a little too slow for my mood.  Probably fun if you’re a kid and looking for some philosophic thoughts.  Totally perfect for kids, adult milage may vary. (library)

Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

5 cups of tea.  The best. (gift to daughter)

Monstress Vol. 1 by Marjorie Lui

3 cups of blegh.  Sorry, that was just me vomiting from all the gore.  The art is beautiful, the story is. . .interesting, I guess.  The violence is pretty graphic.  And I’m pretty wimpy.  So, I think I’m outies on the series.  Good, but def not for me. (library)

Saga Vol. 3 by Bryan K. Vaughan

2.5 DNF.  Too violent for me.  I skimmed it and realized that I’d already read it?  But somehow forgot? (library)

Steampunk Users Manual by Jeffrey VandeMeer

3 cups of tea.  A little dry and repetitive, especially after the last book. (library)

29939047A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

4.5 cups of tea.  Oh man.  I wasn’t expecting fall for this book as hard as I did.  I struggled a little in the beginning, the world building with this series gives me trouble because it uses a lot of mind magics which I don’t really enjoy.  But by the end I was totally sold on the story, the world, and the romance.  Gauri is such a BAMF who is actually badass ,and Vikram is a believable sweetie with his own strengths that complement Gauri’s.  I could see why they would love each other (library audio)

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

4 cups of tea.  Nice, and I can see why it’s a classic for so many people who see their communities represented.  I also feel like it has a lot in common with my partial read of My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. (library audio)

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

214122024.5 cups of tea.  A lovely return to The Princess Bride, this time with some behind the scenes reminiscing.  The audiobook was read by Cary Elwes with short sections written and read by many of the people involved, such as Rob Reiner, William Goldman, Robin Wright, Mandy Patinkin, and Wallace Shawn.  Highly recommend for fans.  (library audio)

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

3 cups of tea.  DNF.  I didn’t care enough to solider on for 400 more pages.  I might have if there had been fewer pages, but the length and the pace were just too much of a turn off for a book and characters I was feeling distinctly “meh” about.  (owned)

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff

4 cups of tea.  Fun, but a bit light and fluff for me, probably due to my struggle with graphic novels overall as being too incomplete as stories compared to my expectation for longer story from text novels.  I’d suggest it for kids who are interested in it though!  (library)

A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty

DNF.  Nice, but a little slow to start and I’m not totally sure I’m going to love all the characters.  Very British.  I may go back another time. (library audio)

Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon and Dean Hale

207020304 cups of tea.  Super fun and different about Rapunzel.  She’s a redhead for one thing!  And it’s set in a fantasy Western world, where Rapunzel’s braids are her lassos.  Fun and I’m planning to pick up the next book from the library.  (library)

Hereville: How Mirka Caught a Fish by Barry Deutsch 

4 cups of tea.  I do love Mirka.  This one gave us some background with Fruma, which I really liked.  I love that Mirka isn’t necessarily learning to be a proper lady.  She’s growing but she’s still herself.  I hope Deutsch is working on another one! (library)

Real Friends by Shannon Hale

5 cups of tea.  I loved this.  It really makes the struggles of friendship become universal and I am so hopeful that my daughter will fare better (or at least as well with finding supportive friends by the end). (library)

31145178Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

3.5 cups of tea.  A good story with some really interesting parallels going on but it just didn’t really grab me.  I will try the next story about Binti, because the length may help me connect with Binti a little more.  (library audio)

Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

4.5 cups of tea.  This book was a bit darker than the previous one, but full of beautiful writing and lovely lines about parenting and forcing gender roles (and other expectations) onto their children.  I want to go back and read Every Heart a Doorway.  (library)

The Hooker and the Hermit by L.S. Cosway and Penny Reid

3.5 cups of tea.  The dialog feels pretty natural but I am not about possessive heroes.  Nor am I totally convinced about Rowan as a believable man.  Was on the fence about reading another by these two.  But I did, because this was pretty good. (previously owned ebook)

27999771The Player and the Pixie by L.S. Cosway and Penny Reid

5 cups of tea!  Holy cow guys, this is the romance book I’ve been waiting for.  This was the book that caught my interest with this series and it *totally* paid off for me.  I love that ‘opposites attract’ trope, especially when both characters have to realize that it’s their own prejudice holding them back. (library ebook)

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

4.5 cups of tea.  Claudia Gray is just about an autobuy author for me.  She knows what I want in a romantic story, an engaging plot, and an impressively immersive world.  I am super late to this party, in part because the plot didn’t sound particularly interesting to me–although those covers are beauts!  I am def carrying on with the series and more Claudia Gray.  (previously owned hardback)

The Mech Who Loved Me by Bec McMaster

172346583.5-4 cups of tea. Liked but didn’t love it. Full review here.  Overall, it was good but I wanted more of Ava.  (e-ARC from author)

Summon the Keeper by Tanya Huff

DNF.  Wasn’t feeling it, though this is definitely a case of ‘it’s not you, it’s me.’ (previously owned paperback)

Currently Reading:

The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Everfair by Nisi Shawl

Midnight Taxi Tango by Daniel Jose Older

Utopia for Realists by Rutger Bregman

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Leave a Reply

