Unpopular Opinions 

Original tag by TheBookArcher: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYfgq8…

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like. Throne of Glass. Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Mortal Instruments (but I thought Infernal Devices was gooood towards the end of that series).  Also Carry On.  I find it irritating that no one criticizes that book, which I found to be pretty meh, though very readable, and terrible at trying to convince me that it was set in Britain.

2. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.  This is hard because it just depends on who you are talking to.  My husband did not enjoy Anne of Green Gables, which I love.  I may have to go with my usual London Steampunk, not 17674856because everyone hates them, but because they aren’t widely talked about, and as fantasy romance with vampires and werewolves, they aren’t likely to get broad notice.

Oh, and checking my Goodreads Read list by lowest overall rating, I get Benny and Shrimp as one that I adore but has a surprisingly low rating.  3.30 on Goodreads, but I have read it several times, it’s sweet, a little bit quirky, a little bit romantic, and basically I love it.  And I’m very sad the sequel hasn’t been translated from Swedish.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.  I don’t like Balthazaar in Mortal Heart.  Mostly though I’m sold on the romance if the author has written well enough to get me through to the end.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.  Military history. Literary fiction (I’m not into rape, depression, infidelity, or sad white boys).  And contemporary YA.  I lived through high school.  I don’t need to re-live it in a narrative.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.  Simon Snow in Carry On.  

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into. GRR Martin.  Or John Green.  I’ve started 3 John Green books (including back in early 2000’s before he was really big) and they all feel the same and I can’t get into them.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. I hate love triangles that triangle for the sake of triangling.  And I hate girls who are “kick butt” except all they do is beat people up and have no further character or strength or femininity.  Be strong in ways 6101718that aren’t just about beating people up.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.  Throne of Glass.  A Court of Thorns and Roses.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?  City of Bones.  Maybe The Magicians?  I’ve quite enjoyed the TV show but I’m totally put off/intimidated by the books and their unlikeable characters because I’m not good at antiheroes, at least not in the extended in-depth you get in books.

Leave a Reply

