Bookish Questions

This tag was going around booktube a little while ago and I saved it in my drafts.  I’m sorry I don’t have any originator to take it back to, but it’s part of internet folk culture now.

Questions: 

1. What is a well-loved book that you hated?  City of Bones.  Throne of Glass.

2. What is a guilty pleasure book? London Steampunk.  I’m not really into guilty 13638125pleasure as an idea, but I think that these books are objectively not very good (grabby male love interests, possessiveness which I do not like), but subjectively they make me feel super happy when I read them, and I think they do have plenty of meaty ideas to explore. (*pun*)

3. Have you ever spoiled a book for someone? If so, which book?  Not really.  I tell my husband some spoilers, but only for books he’s not planning to read.

4. What book made you ugly cry?  The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak and Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

5. What is your latest DNF? Vicious by V.E. Schwab.  Whoops.

6. Which book have you read due to controversy? Umm, I don’t really pick up books because they are controversial.  I already want to read them/avoid them and the controversy heightens that.

183515437. Have you read a book where you questioned the authors’ sanity?  Yes, there are a couple of romances where I have wondered if the authors are ok, because the romance is not healthy but it’s meant to be romantic.

8. What is the most cringe-worthy book you’ve read? Her Mad Hatter.  I mean I’ve read a lot of books and plenty have been cringey, this is just the first one that pops to mind.

9. What book have you read solely due to the cover?  Erm, I don’t usually read books because of the covers (I have an embarrassing story about learning not to judge a book by the cover).  I guess I read Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen because I bought a copy with a pretty cover and I always make myself read my owned books.  I’d put Anne of Avonlea and Anne of the Island in that category too then.

10. Name a book you’re embarrassed to admit you’ve read.  None?  Mostly.  If someone is trying to make me feel embarrassed I might for a minute, but mostly I don’t feel embarrassed about reading.

11. Name an unknown book you wish more people know of.  I just finished Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, and I wish it was super big and famous because I love that series.

12. Name a favorite villain.  Am I a square if I don’t tend to love the villains?  I like Holland from the Shades of Magic series because he’s both sympathetic and villainous.  But mostly I’m here for the heroes, which might be why antiheroes don’t appeal to me very often?  I’ll get back to you as I learn more about myself on that topic.

2548962513. Name a book you enjoyed that you read that is outside the norm of genre you usually read.  Two that I read recently and loved are Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates and Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson.  I’m mostly in the fantasy/YA/middle grade/picture books/science non-fiction realms, and not much contemporary, but I thought both of these were wonderful.

14. Name tropes you actually enjoy reading.  Umm, let me think.  It’s way easier to think of ones I don’t like.  I love ‘marriage of convenience,’ and ‘enemies to lovers’ tropes and I have a real soft spot for the hero’s journey.

Leave a Reply

