2016 New Releases in Review

At the beginning of last year I listed out my anticipated releases for 2016.  Here’s my final round-up on those releases, which ones I read, and what I thought of them.  Links lead to my reviews where possible.

To buy/read when out:

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer – Jan : Libs 

This one got 3.5 cups of tea from me.  I had read most of the short stories before and enjoyed them as providing a little more depth to the world.

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab – Feb 23 : Libs

I didn’t get this one read, but I do have it lined up on the kindle from the library–here I come!

The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home by Catherynne Valente – March 1 – Libs

4.5 cups of tea.  Everything comes full circle and I love this series.

The Crown and the Arrow  by Renee Ahdieh – March 1 – Amazon 

3 cups of tea.  Fine, but got me excited for the final book, which I guess is the point of it.

Iron to Iron by Ryan Graudin- March 8 – Amazon 

4 cups of tea.  This story got me so excited for the new book!

Forest of Memory by Mary Robinette Kowal- March 8 – Libs

3.5-4 cups of tea.  Good and interesting, but I’m not sure if I was missing something. . .

A Tyranny of Petticoats by Jessica Spotswood- March 8 – Libs

3.5 cups of tea.  Fine, but very mixed results.

The Moth and the Flame by Renee Ahdieh March 22 – Amazon 

4+ cups of tea.  I loved this one!

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – March 29 – Amazon 

4.5-5 cups of tea.  I adore this series.

In the Labyrinth of Drakes by Marie Brennan – April 5 – Libs

5 cups of tea.  This series is wonderful.  I am SO ready for the final book.

Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh- April 26 – Purchased

5 cups of tea.  AMAZING.  Period.

The Mirror and the Maze by Renee Ahdieh- Amazon

3.5 cups of tea.  A little unmemorable, but alright.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater- April 26 – Libs

4.5 cups of tea.  I think I need to re-read this series and this book.  I can’t quite decide what I thought of the ending.

Shadowbound by Bec McMaster- Purchase -May 11

4-4.5 cups of tea.  I really like this new series.  It’s very different from London Steampunk, but still dark and dingy and good.

Nobody’s Hero by Bec McMaster – May 23 

4 cups of tea.  I don’t even have a thing for Mad Max, but I do now.

Icon by Genevieve Valentine – June 23 – Library

3 cups of tea.  This was solid, but it just didn’t wow me like the first book, and I found the whole thing a little dull.

The Crimson Skew by S.E. Grove July 12 – Libs 

4 cups of tea.  Not quite as good as the second book, but a solid close to a seriously imaginative series.

Imprudence by Gail Carriger- July 19 – Libs 

3 cups of tea.  Better than the first in the Custard Protocol, but this series just does not draw me in and I find that I have such a hard time connecting with Prudence.

Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter -ARC WON!!-Aug

4 cups of tea.  SO good!  This series is quickly on to become one of my new faves.

Mission Improper- Bec  McMaster – Purchase – August 5

4.5-5 cups of tea.  Exactly what I wanted from a new series in this world.  So good.  The only downside, is that it feels very closely hitched to the next book, rather than self-encompassing.  But, I’m ok with that!

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal -August 5 WON

4-4.5 cups of tea.  Well-written and grounded-ly imaginative as MRK always is.

A Bride’s Story by Karou Mori – Sept 27

4 cups of tea.  Lovely as ever, but it didn’t seem to push the story forward much, so I’m still waiting for the next one with baited breath.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Libs – September 27

4 cups of tea.  This was solidly good, and I really loved some parts, but it just didn’t win me over like the previous book did.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (illustrated) by J.K. Rowling- Oct 4

5 cups of tea.  This art is beautiful and I love seeing the flying Ford Anglia on the cover.

Hexbound by Bec McMaster- October 18

3.5-4 cups of tea.  Good, but it took me some work to get through it.

Romancing the Inventor by Gail Carriger – Nov 1 – ebook from the Gail!

4.5-5 cups of tea, I loved it!

Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin – November 1 – Libs

I didn’t get to this one either.  Reading about Nazis taking over the world was pretty hard pill to swallow after the election, so I’m planning to come back to this one later.

Leave a Reply

