Books You Want to Give Another Chance

These are books that I have read, but didn’t enjoy for whatever reason.  Some of them might have been ones I read as a kid, or listened to and didn’t enjoy the audiobook but might like in text, or have since read other books by the author and want to give the previous “mehs” a try.  Anyone have some encouraging words to get me started?

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

I listened to this on audiobook and it was full cast audio which I do NOT like, and that might have been my problem.

Tithe by Holly Black

I remember this being too gritty and too harshy teenagery for my taste.  But I’d like to try it again.

Sabriel by Garth Nix

I read this as a kid and really liked the start, but then it just seemed like it like didn’t deliver.  I remember it was kind of dull in execution, but so many people love it so much, I hope that I can get a different read.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

I tried reading this in high school and just quit part way through.  I’m not sure it’ll be the thing for me based on other reviews, but I’ve also heard that the same people love the play, which I’d like to see, so I hope to read through the whole book.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

I bought this book with my own meager high school money because it sounded wonderful.  And I just didn’t love it and I couldn’t finish it.  But I adore The Diviners, so I would love to give this another try.

Leave a Reply

