Books You Want to Have Read

16029682I thought of this a few months ago when I was trying to chug through Ursula LeGuin’s A Wizard of Earthsea.  I really wanted to like it, but I also really wanted to have read it.  I wanted to have an opinion about it, I wanted to understand how it fits in to the context of the larger discussion of books.  But I didn’t love it.  And probably I would have quit reading it if not for the fact that I want to have read it more than I wanted to be reading it.

I had the same feeling reading Octavia Butler’s Dawn.  I’m glad that I read it, but I don’t have an urge to pick it up again, or pick up any other Butler work for a little while.  I found this idea an interesting comparison with my usual feelings on DFN-ing, which is that I will happily toss aside any book that I’m not feeling while reading.  Except for these ones that I feel like I *should* read.  Or at least that that I want to have read.

Do you find this, that you don’t stick with your usual reading habits because you feel like you want to be part of the larger conversations about a particular book?

Leave a Reply

