Totally Should’ve Tag

This was a tag going around BookTube a while ago, and I thought it looked fun!  Here are my “totally should’ve” books.

Questions:

135150741. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel: The Silvered by Tanya Huff.  I still live in hope that we’ll hear a “Surprise!” from her.

Bonus: Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.  I like this as a standalone, but I saw the Stief mention that she was considering a sequel, which I would totally read!

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series: I’m not that big on spin-offs.  I’m happy with/hoping that Bec McMaster will keep writing in her London Steampunk world.  We’ve got one spin-off series, and I hope we get more!

3. An author who totally should write more books: Y.S. Lee.  The Agency was so many good things.  I am ready for Lee to just write until the end of days.

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else & 5. Totally should’ve ended differently: These two are in ways that I don’t really think about books.  I don’t think that it should have happened in a different way, or that someone made the wrong choice, more than I just didn’t enjoy the book, and often I stop reading before I get too far into it.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise: Persona by Genevieve Valentine.  This is a political, eco-terrorism thriller.  I thought it was super good, but I think it would really adapt well to the screen (getting Alias vibes).

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.  This book is a bit of a slow burn but it has such a pay off that I think it would draw in a TV audience and move quickly enough to smooth along some of the slower beginning parts.  Also, mind gardens are always tough for me to imagine.

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view: Not just one POV, but fewer POVs in the Lunar Chronicles would have been good.  Kai was such a snore for me.

177565599. Totally should have a cover change: Unpopular Opinion time. The Winner’s Curse.  I don’t like the frufru ballgowns and frankly picked up the book in spite of the covers.

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles.  I don’t know if these were the originals, but why did they ever let these lovely covers get away?

11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one: Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede.  I love this book but not the second which I haven’t re-read.  The third has been staring at me for over a year because I feel so ambivalent about picking it up.

Leave a Reply

