Summer Reading Goals and Book Bingo Results

Summer has come to an end, and with it summer reading goals and summer reading bingos.  I participated in two bingos, one for my local library system, and Novel Tea‘s summer book bingo. I like to write-up my bingo cards ahead, planning my reads that fit this bingo, then go back and match up what I actually read with what I actually did end up reading.  I did pretty well overall, and burned through a whole lot of my owned books.  But first, those goals.

Summer Reading Goals

One of my biggest goals for the summer was to do some good work reading my own books.  I am not someone who enjoys having stacks of unread books around, nor am I in a position to spend money on books that I am never going to read (hello, grad student life).  This summer I wanted to read half of the books that I already owned, which came out to 10 ebooks and 9 physical copy books.  And BOOM–I almost did it.

I read 10 ebooks and 7 physical copies, which I may still be counting as my fall quarter doesn’t start for 4 more weeks.  But, as the actual season of summer has had a weather shift in my part of the world, and most other schools are back in for fall, I’m calling time on summer reading.  I’m pretty happy with getting all those ebooks, and only being 2 physical books shy of what I wanted.  I mean, I did read plenty of other books this summer, and got back in the swing of using my library for most things.  And my TBR is nearly half of what it was 3 months ago.  Go me. 🙂

And I have learned that I should not buy very many books just because they are on sale as ebooks.  Many of the ebooks I’ve been knuckling down to read this year I have not enjoyed much at all, most of which I have bought because there is a daily deal and some good reviews.  I have learned to look for the book at my library before hitting that “1-Click” button, and to try it out before buying as some of these I can tell quite early that I will probably not enjoy.

Physical books

What Mothers Do Especially When It Looks Like Nothing/Far West/Omnivore’s Dilemma/Cleopatra/A Wizard of Earthsea/The Water Room/Ghostly Echoes

Ebooks

A Rogue By Any Other Name/Oryx and Crake/Station Eleven/Sonnets from the Portuguese/Addicted to You/Luck on the Line/The Best of Charles De Lint/The Awakening/Tales of Departure/Once Upon A Time*/Seraphina*

*Reviews to come!

Novel Tea Book Bingo

For Novel Tea (from My Life As A Teacup youtube channel) I got all but 5 spaces, 2 of which I had planned to leave blank.  I’m not going to review them here, as I will have covered them previously this summer, but I will link my reviews to the book titles here.  Unread books are marked bold.

Star-Touched Queen (fairy tale retelling)/The Far West (historical fiction)/The Awakening (recommendation from a friend)/Station Eleven (contemporary lit)/The Water Room (mystery thriller).

Re-read a Fave (no re-reads happened this summer)/*To All the Boys I Loved Before (just didn’t happen)/Red Rising (sci-fi/fantasy)/Every Heart a Doorway (read in a day)/Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth (foreign author)

Charles DeLint (short stories)/*Sense and Sensibility (I NEED Juliet Stevenson’s audio version and my library does NOT have it.)/Free Space (woohoo!)/Omnivore’s Dilemma (non-fiction)/Over Sea, Under Stone (YA lit)

*Feral Nights (it’s on my nightstand, just waiting for me in the next 3-5 reads.)/Neil Gaiman (I’m not a giant Gaiman fan, at least of his writing, I love his brain.  I wasn’t sure where to start and really wanted this bingo to help me attack my TBR, so no Gaiman this summer.)/Cleopatra (biography)/What Do Mothers Do (book you’ve been meaning to read)/Bitten (1st person POV)

Imprudence (new release)/Reclaim Your Brain (something you wouldn’t normally pick up)/Milk or Honey (book about love)/ElfQuest (graphic novel)/Clean Sweep (blue cover)

Public Library Book Bingo

I find it interesting the overlaps that there are between these two bingo cards, such as “read in a day.”  I was 1(!) book short on my library bingo card, which I feel pretty proud of!  I didn’t get to My Brilliant Friend for my translated book, but on the whole I did get the 24 other bingo spots.  And a whole bunch of them are from my TBR, which I feel extra good about!  There will be repeats, but hey-ho.  I don’t know what that even means.

Over Sea, Under Stone (recommended by a librarian)/ElfQuest Vol. 1 Complete (from your childhood)/Teaching My Mother to Give Birth (collection of poetry)/Bitten (novel)/Tiara Saurus Rex (read out loud)

Omnivore’s Dilemma (food memoir)/Station Eleven (prize winner)/The Far West (YA)/Thunder Boy Jr. (local author)/Milk and Honey (out of your comfort zone)

Clean Sweep (been meaning to read)/Imprudence (set in a place you’ve always wanted to visit)/The Diviners (Free Space-recommend a book to a friend)/A Wizard of Earthsea (special speaker)/Reflections on the Magic of Writing (memoir)

Star-Touched Queen (#WeNeedDiverseBooks)/Red Rising (recommended by an independent bookstore)/ TRANSLATED FROM ANOTHER LANGUAGE/Katy and the Big Snow (reread)/Sonnets from the Portuguese (written more than 100 years ago)

Best of Charles DeLint (collection of short stories)/The Awakening (banned)/What Do Mothers Do (non-fiction)/Every Heart A Doorway (finished in a day)/The Water Room (recommended by a friend)

Leave a Reply

