March Acquisitions

So, spring break was this month and going to bookstores is usually my treat to myself when I don’t have the kids with me.  But, I feel pretty proud that I have been actually reading the books that I already have on my shelves, so the purchases here were things I am actually going to read. Or have already read.

From a literary gala for a local library system

Book Crush by Nancy Pearl* -Signed by the Pearl herself!

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

The Story of Diva and Flea* by Mo Williams and Tony DiTerlizzi (illustrator) For my kids

We Should All Be Feminists* by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichi 

Half Price Books

23437156

Six of Crows* by Leigh BardugoLOVED this!

Local Indie

Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

The Woodcutter* by Kate Danley – why wasn’t this on my Monthly Recommendations: Standalones???

Soulless Manga x3*** by Gail Carriger, Rem (illustrator)

Goodwill (who knew Goodwill was such a treasure trove for books?!)

Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff

The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander

The Night Circus* by Erin Morgenstern

George and Martha: The Complete Stories of Two Best Friends* by James Marshall – For my kids; George and Martha are their new plans for Halloween.

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan – Not totally sure about this.  I loved The Brides of Rollrock Island, but this one has a lot of difficult things like sexual assault, which I am not quite sure I’m up for.

Won in give-away by author

20980648

Waistcoats and Weaponry* by Gail Carriger -I already had this one, but have swapped my copy for this lovely signed copy.  Thank you, Ms. Carriger!

Won in a give-away from Book Riot

Shades of Darkness by A.R. Kahler

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Dream Things True by Marie Marquardt

Forest of Ruin by Kelley Armstrong

Amazon Pre-order

20443235

The Winner’s Kiss* by Marie Rutkoski My most anticipated book of 2016.

**********************************************************************

Books for the kids: 2

Books read (previously or since buying): 12

Books unread: 8

Books I may not actually read: 1

Total: 23

5 books won, 18 purchased

Leave a Reply

