Spring Break Reads

I know it’s been pretty quiet here, which was unintentional, though it was Spring Break and I did all sorts of cleaning and napping and reading, and trying to recover in time for Spring  Quarter.  My apologies for the lack of action.  Here are the books I read, my thoughts summarized in what is hopefully a zippy way!

18961360The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home by Catherynne Valente

I loved this.  I fell off the bandwagon a little with The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two, needing the audiobook to help me through.  But, this book was great, tying in all the threads from the previous books.  A great ending to the series, and worth the tie up for anyone else who got bogged down in the middle.

26883555The Forest of Memory by Mary Robinette Kowal

News flash: MRK is a goddess.  Still.

18293427The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Nice, I can see why booklovers love it.  I was definitely choked up by the ending.

17399160

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

DNF.  I just couldn’t get into it, though it seems like it might be alright.

25074849

Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro

Good, important, but not quite right for me.  I think that graphic novels aren’t my thing, although I’m glad I read this one and might read on out of curiosity.  The story is engaging!

8573642Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

I DNF’d this one.  The premise is cool, but it was a bit pedestrian for me.

A Bride’s Story 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

My new loves.  I’m new to manga, and it took me some practice reading it correctly.  This series is my new favorite, about brides in Central Asia in the 19th Century.  The pace is slow and feels perfect for looking at this speed of life.

22020592

A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood

I read a couple of the stories from this before it had to go back to the library and LOVED the ones I read.  Y.S. Lee (<3<3), Jessica Spotswood, and Marie Lu.  I def want to get it in physical copy and read it all!

8088

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

DNF.  I know I said I’d DNF’d a few weeks ago, but I kept trying.  It was compulsively readable, but in the end just too long-winded and slow.  I lost interest 70% in, which seems like a good ol’ try.

1007857

Emma Vol. 4 by Kaoru Mori

It was nice, and the plot finally feels like it is getting moving.

17707787

The Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev

Mixed feelings.  I really liked the writing and the cultural exploration of old world sensibilities and traditions, and modern world issues.  But, I wish there had been fewer romance tropes that kept sticking out to me.  I wish I knew more about Bollywood tropes to be able to see all the layers.

26144961Midnight Hours by Mary Robinette Kowal

READ IT.  I LOVED IT!

18938929

The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev

Good, but I struggle with the love interest, Vikram.  Arrogant is not my favorite adjective for romantic heroes.  But I like that there are fewer romancey tropes and that we don’t switch pov’s mid-scene.  Although maybe that’s why I struggled to connect with the hero. But I like the discussion of mental illness.

51tz2p1fahl-_sx331_bo1204203200_The Moth and the Flame by Renee Ahdieh

Ooo, this was what I wanted.  I’m ready ready ready for the sequel book in April!

Currently Reading:

A Gathering of Shadows FinalA Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab 

This one is due back at the library, so I’m having to put this back to “in-progress” and wait until the hold list cycles around to me again.  I liked it, but I think that Schwab’s writing takes me some time to sink into.

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

LOVING this so far!  Only about 20% in, but the story is tight, the atmosphere is solid, and the characters feel complete.

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Not too far in yet, but I’m excited to get into this book which everyone is loving!

Leave a Reply

