Acquisitions Jan and Feb

I know that some people do hauls to show what they bought (sometimes maybe even show-off), but I have decided to keep track here in order to keep myself accountable and to see how many books I’ve bought each month.  I am a grad student and I have two preschoolers.  Combined, in my case, those two mean that I have a lot of loans and no personal income.  I do have a husband with a good job, but I cannot be frivolous with money.  I can buy a few books because this is my only real hobby, however, I cannot afford to buy books that I am not actively interested in.  And, frankly, I can’t usually afford books at full price.  I am lucky enough to live in a place with really good secondhand books stores (after living in places with zero bookstores), and I love BookOutlet for offering new books at very cheap prices, so my price range for most books is under $10, usually closer $5 or less.  But, I don’t let my TBR build up much because I can’t afford to keep dozens of unread books on my shelves.  I can’t afford to buy things I’m not going to make use of.

All of that said, I do still buy books.  I buy books for my kids and I buy books that I love, when they are in good shape and in my very low price range.  I’ve decided to document my acquisitions each month to make me more aware of how many books I am buying and to keep me honest to myself about my book buying habits.  So, these Acquisitions posts are not bragging or meant to inspire jealousy (though I’m not sure they would anyway!) but they are to make me look at how many books I am bringing in each month (and the money traded going out).  

Please find my January and February acquisitions below (yes, I’m using my library lingo of ‘acquisitions’ here) and I’ll plan to have another acquisitions post at the end of March.  Stay in check, self!

Acquired in January (9 books)

Collected for my children

Peter Pan (Puffin Classics) by J.M. Barrie (Book Outlet)

The Secret Garden (Puffin Classics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Book Outlet)

The Wind in the Willows (Puffin Classics) by Kenneth Grahme (Book Outlet)

Call of the Wild (Puffin Classics) by Jack London (Book Outlet)

Robin Hood (Puffin Classics) by Roger Lancelyn Green (Secondhand from local indie)

Previously read and wanted for my collection:

226715411

The Golden Specific by S.E. Grove (Book Outlet)

Bought for my brother:

18966819

Golden Son by Pierce Brown (Book Outlet)

Previously unread:

How to Be Vegan by Elizabeth Castoria (Book Outlet, now read)

This Book it Overdue by Marilyn Johnson (Book Outlet, still unread)

Acquired in February (8 books)

Still unread:

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton (Amazon ebook)

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder (Amazon ebook)

Feral Nights by Cynthia Leitich Smith (Half Price Books)

Bought and immediately read because I was Brackened in February:

18052136

In Time by Alexandra Bracken (Amazon ebook)

Previously read and wanted for collection:

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Book Outlet)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (Book Outlet)

The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel (Book Outlet)

Collected for my children
16101115

Peter Pan (Puffin Chalk) by J.M. Barrie (Book Outlet)

Math time

4 books still unread.

4 previously read books bought for my collection.

2 unread books which were promptly read.

6 collectable books for my children

1 book for my brother because I got him Red Rising for Christmas and he loved it.

Equals:

17 books in two months.

Leave a Reply

